# COOK INLET REGIONAL CITIZENS ADVISORY COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING Cook Inlet Aquaculture April 6, 2018 Approved Minutes

Members Present: John Williams, Robert Peterkin, Gary Fandrei, Bob Flint, Grace Merkes, Carla

Stanley, Walt Sonen, Michael Opheim, Paul Shadura, Kyle Crow

Members Present by Teleconference: Deric Marcorelle, Rob Lindsey

Members Absent: Molly McCammon (excused)

Staff Present: Michael Munger, Susan Saupe, Vinnie Catalano, Jerry Rombach, Linda Giguere,

Vaito'a Heaven, Cindy Sanguinetti

# 1. CALL TO ORDER/ APPROVAL

President John Williams called the meeting to order at 2:35 pm. Roll was called, establishing quorum.

#### 2. SEATING OF DIRECTORS

Four Director seats were expiring: Commercial Fishing, City of Kodiak, City of Kenai and City of Homer. Paul Shadura was re-elected to serve another 3 year term representing the Commercial Fishing Special Interest Group. The municipal incumbents were reappointed.

Bob Flint moved to reseat incumbents Paul Shadura, representing Commercial Fishing; John Williams, representing City of Kenai; Rob Lindsey, representing City of Kodiak; and Carla Stanley, representing the City of Homer. Walt Sonen seconded. The motion passed.

# 3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Carla Stanley moved to reinstate the slate of officers: John Williams, President; Robert Peterkin, Vice-President; and Gary Fandrei, Secretary/Treasurer. Bob Flint seconded. The motion passed.

# 4. SELECTION/APPOINTMENT: COMMITTEE MEMBERS

#### • Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of the 3 officers and 2 at-large committee members.

Robert Peterkin moved to reseat Bob Flint and Deric Marcorelle to serve as at-large members on the Executive Committee. Carla Stanley seconded. The motion passed.

#### • Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is comprised of the Secretary/ Treasurer, who serves as chair and 2 members atlarge.

Bob Flint moved to reappoint Molly McCammon and Grace Merkes to serve as members at-large on the Audit Committee. Robert Peterkin seconded. The motion passed.

#### Credentials Committee

The Credentials Committee is comprised of the Vice-President, who serves as chair, 2 members at-large and an alternate.

Bob Flint moved to reinstate the members of the Credentials Committee: Gary Fandrei, Grace Merkes and Michael Opheim, alternate. Michael Opheim seconded. The motion passed.

#### Protocol Control Committee

The Protocol Control Committee is comprised of 5 Board Members who act on behalf of the full Council when comments are required in a timely manner.

Carla Stanley requested to step down from her position as alternate on the Committee. Gary Fandrei volunteered to assume that post.

Robert Peterkin moved to reinstate the members of the Protocol Committee: Robert Peterkin, Rob Lindsey, Deric Marcorelle, Paul Shadura and Bob Flint, and to replace Carla Stanley with Gary Fandrei as the alternate. Carla Stanley seconded.

Kyle Crowe was invited to audit the Protocol Committee, receiving all materials for review and listening to the meetings to acquaint him with the work it does and prepare him for participation when his schedule allows.

# The motion passed.

#### • Prevention, Response, Operations & Safety Committee

Bob Flint moved to reinstate Bob Flint, Rob Lindsey, Walt Sonen, Deric Marcorelle, Carla Stanley, Walt Sonen and Michael Opheim to serve on the PROPS Committee. Carla Stanley seconded. The motion passed.

Bob Flint moved to approve public members nominated by the PROPS Committee: Captain Bob Pawlowski, Jan Hansen and Steve Lufkin. Robert Peterkin seconded. The motion passed.

#### Environmental Monitoring Committee

Robert Perterkin moved to reinstate the existing members Molly McCammon, Carla Stanley, Deric Marcorelle and Michael Opheim to continue serving on the EMC Committee. Gary Fandrei seconded. The motion passed.

Carla Stanley moved to approve the 4 public member seats nominated by the EMC Committee: Ginny Litchfield, Dr. Richard Prentki and Eric Klein to serve 3 year terms and Bruce Magyar to serve the remaining 1 year of a vacated term. Gary Fandrei seconded. The motion passed.

# Robert Peterkin moved to adjourn. Bob Flint seconded.

The meeting adjourned at 3:12 PM.