Cook Inlet RCAC Annual Meeting Videoconference April 9, 2021 Approved Minutes

Members Present: John Williams, Gary Fandrei, Molly McCammon, Carla Stanley, Paul Shadura,

Walt Sonen, Bob Flint, Deric Marcorelle, Michael Opheim, Scott Arndt, Robert Peterkin

Members Absent: Rob Lindsey, Grace Merkes

Staff Present: Michael Munger, Susan Saupe, Vinnie Catalano, Jerry Rombach, Vaito'a Heaven,

Maddie Jamora, Shaylon Cochran, Cindy Sanguinetti

1. CALL TO ORDER/ APPROVAL

President John Williams called the meeting to order at 11:47 am. Roll was called, establishing quorum.

Paul Shadura moved to approve the agenda. Scott Arndt seconded. The motion passed.

2. SEATING OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Gary Fandrei moved to reseat the re-elected/ reappointed Directors to 3 year terms:

Gary Fandrei, Aquaculture Associations Paul Shadura, Commercial Fishing Group John Williams, City of Kenai Carla Stanley, City of Homer Rob Lindsey, City of Kodiak

Bob Flint seconded. The motion passed.

3. Election of Officers/ Executive Committee

John Williams read a statement announcing his withdrawal as President, having held the office since 2011, but saying he was willing to serve as Vice-President. He recommended Gary Fandrei serve as President and that Deric Marcorelle serve as Secretary/Treasurer. He further suggested that Grace Merkes and Robert Peterkin continue in the at-large positions, and thanked Bob Flint for his work on the committee.

Michael Opheim moved to seat Gary Fandrei as President, John Williams as Vice-President, Deric Marcorelle as Secretary/Treasurer, Grace Merkes and Robert Peterkin as at-large members. Molly McCammon seconded. The motion passed.

Carla Stanley clarified the Executive Committee has historically been drawn from local Directors.

4. Audit Committee

As Treasurer, Deric Marcorelle will serve as Chair on the Audit Committee. Ms. McCammon offered to relinquish her seat, but no one volunteered.

Carla Stanley moved to set the Audit Committee with Deric Marcorelle as Chair, Molly McCammon, Grace Merkes and Robert Peterkin on the Audit Committee. Michael Opheim seconded. The motion passed.

5. Credentials Committee

As Vice-President, John Williams will serve as Chair on the Credentials Committee. Gary Fandrei offered to relinquish his seat.

Gary Fandrei moved to seat John Williams as Chair, Grace Merkes, Michael Opheim and Robert Peterkin on the Credentials Committee. Michael Opheim seconded. The motion passed.

6. Protocol Control Committee

The committee will elect its chair.

Gary Fandrei moved to retain Robert Peterkin, Bob Flint, Deric Marcorelle, Paul Shadura, Rob Lindsey, and Gary Fandrei on the Protocol Control Committee. Deric Marcorelle seconded. The motion passed.

7. PROPS Committee

The committee will elect its chair and choose alternates.

Bob Flint moved to re-seat for 1 year Board Members Rob Lindsey, Deric Marcorelle, Bob Flint, Michael Opheim, Carla Stanley and to approve Public Members Bob Pawlowski, Jan Hanson and Kyle Crow for 3 year terms on the PROPS Committee. Deric Marcorelle seconded. The motion passed.

8. EMC Committee

The Committee will elect its chair and choose alternates.

Paul Shadura requested to join EMC as an alternate. Carla Stanley also expressed a willingness to serve as an alternate. Mr. Rombach noted that the committee did not have a full slate of Directors last year.

Michael Opheim, Molly McCammon, Carla Stanley, Deric Marcorelle, Paul Shadura and Gary Fandrei offered to serve.

Paul Shadura moved to close nominations. Michael Opheim seconded.

Michael Opheim moved to seat for 1 year Board Members Michael Opheim, Molly McCammon, Carla Stanley, Deric Marcorelle, Paul Shadura and Gary Fandrei and to approve Public Members Dick Prentki and Eric Klein for 3 year terms on the EMC Committee. Gary Fandrei seconded.

John Williams passed the gavel to the new President Gary Fandrei who thanked him for his years of service.

Mr. Shadura asked when the next meeting will be held in-person. Mr. Fandrei reiterated that caution will prevail in making the decision. Mr. Williams noted that there is a surge of COVID 19 cases on the Peninsula.

Ms. Sanguinetti thanked the Council for the interesting job and expressed her farewell.

Carla Stanley moved to adjourn. Paul Shadura seconded.

The meeting adjourned at 12:23 PM.