Board members reelected, reappointed

At its most recent meeting, the CIRCAC Board of Directors certified its annual elections process, welcoming back to the Board for a three-year term Mr. Michael Opheim, representing Alaska Native Groups and Mr. Deric Marcorelle, representing Environmental Interest Groups and also serving as the Council’s Secretary/Treasurer.


Mr. Opheim resides in Seldovia and is the Inter-Tribal Liaison for the Chugach Regional Resources Commission. Prior to that, he was the Environmental Coordinator for the Seldovia Village Tribe for nearly two decades. Mr. Opheim also serves on the Environmental Monitoring Committee (EMC), Prevention, Response, Operations and Safety (PROPS) Committee, and Credentials Committees. He was first elected to the CIRCAC Board in 2011.



Mr. Marcorelle joined the CIRCAC Board in 2011 as well, representing Environmental Interest Groups following a 30-year career with the state of Alaska including 20 years with the Department of Environmental Conservation. He also serves as CIRCAC’s Secretary/Treasurer and on the EMC, PROPS, Protocol Control, and Administrative Committees.



Grace Merkes, Kenai Peninsula Borough was reappointed for a three-year term.





Scott Arndt, Kodiak Island Borough was reappointed for a three-year term.